Cool. Coolcoolcool.

If I could magically become part of any cast, it would be Community. Obviously. It’s the exact reason that I wanted to become an actor: to play as all the things I wanted to be throughout my childhood. As a kid, I wanted to be an astronaut. Then I wanted to be the president of Toys R Us so that I could play with all the toys in the store. Then I wanted to be a palaeontologist. Then I wanted to be world DJ battle champion. Then I realized that if I became an actor, I could be all these things at one time or another. (The DJ wish actually turned me into a DJ, though.)

I actually made that realization while still in the late stages of my childhood. At around that same time, I fell in love with improv via “Whose Line is it Anyway?”, the original British version. And from that point on, my fate was sealed: I would learn and then teach, play in, and coach improv workshops and teams. It was the cause of many, many favourite high school memories and experiences. It also made me know that my post-secondary education would be focused on performance.

And that led to the most influential years in my life at York’s theatre program, the relationships from which would be the most important in my life. I found my passion. I found my networks. I found my collaborators. I found my best friend, my family.

And if I could take all of those friends I loved creating work with and put them in one project, I’d want it to be Community.

That’s October 19th.

Also this is what I’m watching right now (with commentary!)

20130103-230614.jpg

-Mickey

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

