A Night In With My Guitar – Part 2.

I’m starting to get my singing voice back. I’ve practiced more music in the last 6 days than I have in the last 4 months. It’s absolutely necessary and refreshing. I feel my brain getting metaphorically massaged and growing again.

Over a year ago, I was in a show that changed my life. It made me fall in love with music all over again. It made me fall in love with dancing. It made me fall in love with performing. And though I’ve had some beautiful musical experiences with many different people since that experience, I think this last week just working on music on my own has been some of my favourite times of all.

Remember when I said I wanted to learn SNL’s closing theme? I actually accidentally learned it while working on that Bruno Mars Monologue song. To be fair, I bought the sheet music for it — I had a link to the ORIGINAL transcription of it, but it had been shut down and now I can’t find it anywhere — but I’ve only ever run through it once, and half-assed at that. I got through the chunk of that song that most people hear at the end of the broadcast, but I’ve still yet to learn the entire thing. That chunk that I figured out, though, is one of the most soulful, most fun songs to play. (And it’s not just because it’s in 6/8 time, and I LOVE and LIVE in 6/8 time.)

And as I said before, I’m getting my voice back. I’m starting to remember my range and slowly grow it to the extent I had it during that life-changing show. It’s slow, but that’s how I like it.

Saturday, I play at The Central in Toronto. I’d love it if you could join me and (almost) experience what I’ve been experiencing over the last week. There will be at least one duet to bolster the set. (Thank you to the lovely Arlene Paculan. No coincidence that she was part of that same show, a year and a half ago.)

Two nights in a row. I think my guitar likes me.

Image

– Mickey

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

