Damn it, Roddenberry.

I can attribute a very large part of my personality, beliefs, diplomatic abilities, and imagination to the creations of Gene Roddenberry. Translation: I am a huge Star Trek nerd. I wouldn’t go so far to say I’m a Trekkie, because the dedication to Roddenberry’s universe that they have is something I could never match. And that’s not to say that I haven’t tried, it’s just that as someone who loves (read: geeks out to) so many things and as a believer of balance in life, I’ve learned my lessons when it comes to that level of fanatic passion. (I was obsessed with Final Fantasy XI Online, to the point where I’ve seen too many sunrises without going first going to sleep.)

But I’ve always been in love with the Star Trek universe, and the main ideal that sold me on it was that in this universe, humans decided to work together for a common goal to explore the stars. They dropped all notions of currency and pooled their resources together to seek out something more than all they’ve ever known on this planet. One of my high school teachers laughed at me once for saying that this ideal would be how I want the future to be. She couldn’t open her mind to the thought of money going extinct and basically told me to think of something more realistic. I pretty much thought she had nothing valid to say after that point and made sure to keep her out of the rest of my secondary education. (I don’t even remember her name now, so I must have been successful.) But a reaction like hers only strengthened my hope that, though most likely not in my lifetime, the future will move to a more Roddenberry-esque reality.

And that’s why this post is titled as such. There is no doubt in my mind that if Star Trek ever became a reality, it would be dreams upon dreams come true. In fact, so much of our science and technology have evolved alongside and been influenced by the Star Trek canon. Roddenberry’s universe made so many scientific assumptions that it caused many of our scientific thinkers to test, ponder, and either prove, disprove, or continue to develop and debate ideas such as faster-than-light travel, teleportation, holographic projections, handheld computers and communication devices, energy-based weaponry, energy-matter conversion and more. And it’s all Roddenberry’s fault.

So damn it, Roddenberry. Way to make me think these things are possible and that the future has the possibility to be so damn awesome. I know that when I’m at the end of my lifetime here, I’ll still have a replicator, a holodeck, and transporter technology on my list of things I want from Santa. And let’s face it, even a warp-capable shuttle would be nice.

And for the record, yes, I’ve dressed up in a Star Trek outfit for Hallowe’en before. I was Lt. Data. And my grandma made the costume. (And I still have the toy communicator, tricorder, and phaser somewhere at my parents’ house.)

– Mickey

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Damn it, Roddenberry.

  1. […] Damn it, Roddenberry. (mrminddump.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

