Inside on a Friday.

It’s been such an eventful week that I made the decision to just stay in after my work shift today. It wasn’t an easy decision — I was invited to hit the bar with some friends I don’t get to see all the time, but really wish I could see all the time — but it’s something that had to be done. And I’m okay with that. I know a lot of people, my close friends included, see Fridays as a party day because Saturday is a sleep-in day, but as someone who has had to work Saturday mornings for the last 9 years, it’s actually easier for me to stay in than it is to have a crazy-good Friday night. And that’s not to say that I don’t enjoy my Fridays out on the town. I’ve definitely functioned as a teacher on Saturdays after a 2-hour sleep before. It might have just been minimal functionality, but the point is I’ve never had to call in sick to my music school due to a hangover. It’s just that I wouldn’t be able to maintain a regular Friday like that all the time.

I’ve written about needing time to yourself and to enjoy days off before. I still think it’s a very important thing to do. The infamous “me-time” that you hear about in magazines, TV shows, health & well-being websites, and other things like that may seem pretty repetitive and kind of corny, but they’re not all wrong about it. It’s really important to take that time off to recharge, refocus, and reflect in order to keep your mind and body in balance and at peace. Always being on the go is great for productivity, but a replenished you is even better, not just for how productive you are, but how good the quality of your productivity can be.

Tonight was a chance to reconnect with my roommate. Before we both got busy with multiple projects and expanding social lives, it was a nightly routine to sit around and hang out watching reruns of Community before heading to bed (or more her heading to bed and me heading to my PS3). This was the first time in a while that we were able to do that for a little bit, and it felt like a recharge for our friendship. (Not that it was drained in the first place, just that our schedules and wakefulness finally lined up like it used to.) It’s always nice to catch up while relaxed on the couch as opposed to quick check-ins on the way to sleep because a way-too early day awaits. And even though this felt shorter than our usual hangout sessions, it was still nice and definitely necessary.

This Friday-in was also the final resistance workout of my first complete round of P90X. And for the first time in my entire life, I was able to do a full motion chin-up during a workout without any chair or counter-weight assistance. That accomplishment alone  was worth staying in. I’m currently 30 pounds lighter than when I started and as I’ve mentioned before, there are muscles and definition showing up that I never thought I’d ever see on myself. If anyone ever had any doubt as to the effectiveness to this program, I submit myself as primary evidence to the contrary.

And that was how my night went. Now I’m ready to get a solid sleep session in, endorphin’d-out from my workout, prepared for dreamland time. I can’t wait until Saturdays mean a sleep-in day once again. (But that’s another post altogether.)

– Mickey

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

