Moments of silence, thoughts, and energies. (Updated)

I don’t usually do things like this, but I feel that in light of three bombings in three countries on the same day, I’ll dedicate this short post to the victims and the families and friends of the victims of the Boston Marathon explosions in the US, and the massive car-bombings that happened in Iraq. (Edit: A US bomb also killed 30 at an Afghan wedding, apparently missing its intended target.)

My thoughts and energies go out to everyone affected by these attacks. As much as I am admittedly de-sensitized to fictionalized violence and as much as I am a participant in fictionalized violence via video games, I don’t think I’ll ever understand the actual decision-making process and follow-through of causing fatal harm to another human being. I know what it’s like to want to hurt somebody, but even when I just get angry at someone and take it out on them verbally, it feels so out of sync with who I am and what I believe that I immediately backpedal into a neutral position and vibration. However, I will always remember one professor’s reference to a philosophical quote, “I am human and nothing human is alien to me”. Take from that what you will, but it always serves a reminder to me that there is no “always” and “never” when it comes to the potential of what any of us are capable.

Please don’t use these events as a means of pushing any message or agenda other than to help those who are in need of help at this time. And don’t wait for things like this to happen to remember to always help your fellow human and to tell those closest to you that you love them and are happy that they are safe. Don’t let fear and hatred overshadow the necessities of love and compassion in times like this and in any other time.

Live and don’t cower. Help and don’t fear-monger. Love and don’t avenge.

– Mickey

Tagged , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Moments of silence, thoughts, and energies. (Updated)

  1. jefftds says:

    Amen brother. Amen.

Leave a Reply

