Power of smoothies.

In the journey to a healthier me, I’ve finally made it to the last week of the P90X program. It just keeps getting better, as I’ve mentioned before, with gaining more strength, speed, and agility, losing a lot of weight at a healthy pace, and seeing my body at its healthiest so far, with definition and muscles in places I’d never thought I’d see.

One of my favourite things, however, from this whole program has been something I’ve had almost daily from the nutrition guide side of things: the smoothie. More accurately, the guide calls it a protein shake, but it’s one of the things I look forward to the most in my everyday meal consumption. I love it because it’s homemade, easy and quick to make, and most importantly, it’s freakin’ delicious. It’s like dessert for dinner (or lunch), making me feel like a kid not listening to the babysitter when I have it, except that there’s no worries of getting a timeout. (That never happened, but you get the picture.)

It’s an especially great choice for me since my schedule is so packed that I’m usually doing my workouts at night, which means my last meal of the day tend to be really late. And since I’m following the no-carbs-before-bed rule (or at least trying to do so, though it’s been more like two hours before bed instead of three) it’s become the perfect meal for my unusual hours.

I usually go for the strawberry-banana combination, but because of a lack of time to get more strawberries over the past couple of days, I’ve discovered the extremely delicious peanut butter-banana combo. (All of this is within the guidelines set out in the P90X nutrition guide. Awesome.) It has become my new instant favourite, and to make up for the lack of strawberries, I’ve been using more ice to make it more of a slushie than a smoothie.

But either way, it’s my favourite meal of the day, the easiest meal of the day, and a great way to start or finish my crazy-busy days. (Though I will say that it’s hard to top my homemade mini-pizzas — also nutrition guide approved — so I’ll call it a tie.)

Want to try it out? Here are my recipes (for my weight and activity level — make adjustments for you since this essentially yields two tall glasses)

Protein Shake
1 cup strawberries (alternative berries or 1tbsp peanut butter also work)
1 banana
1 cup skim milk
1 cup ice
2 scoops protein powder

Put ingredients in blender. Blend until smooth. Taste the magic.

20130417-002513.jpg
– Mickey

Tagged , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Power of smoothies.

  1. healthiestbeauty says:

    Reblogged this on The healthiest beauty.

  2. jefftds says:

    Smoothies. Life’s best accompany to workouts. 😀 Thanks for the recipe dude!

  3. jefftds says:

    P.S. Congrats on the last week! 😀

Leave a Reply

