Night driving and time travel.

Tonight, I was lucky enough to travel back in time to my favourite decade of the 20th century. I played drums at a speakeasy (fundraiser) and it was quite awesome to do so in a setting like that. Everyone was dressed in their ’20s best; rum runners, newsies, and flapper girls were all about, enjoying an evening of music, vaudeville comedy acts, poetry, and of course, prohibition booze. (Well, just regular booze, but you have to play the part and get into the era.) I wish every gig was set in that atmosphere. It was such a trip.

I’ve always been in love with the 1920s. The style and look of the era combined with the music and entertainment available through prohibition have always intrigued and excited me. I haven’t seen many of them, but I thoroughly enjoy movies set in this time, even if its a terrible storyline. The visuals are enough to keep my attention for the duration. I have no doubt this is why I enjoyed reading The Great Gatsby so much in high school and why I enjoyed it even more as a live production in university. Obviously, I’m very excited for the new movie remake of it, but I’m also a big fan of the last time it was turned into a movie. There’s just something about the energy of it all, the “roaring” aspect of it all that makes me wish I could actually time travel to experience it.

The weather tonight was perfect to add to the feel and experience of the adventure. At many times, I felt like I was in a movie set in the 1920s, and I have the light rain and the wet, shining streets to thank for that. Leaving an upstairs bar while the band was playing sultry jazz, walking to my car under the street light, fedora tilted low, suit buttoned up with the sounds and sights of cars splashing by all put me right in a 1920s film noir mood. I might as well have had a detective’s narration in my head as a soundtrack. And once I was driving, I definitely had to have jazz playing on the radio to keep that feeling going. I love driving at night as it is, probably because it already evokes that mood and era for me, but doing it after leaving a speakeasy on rained-on city streets with jazz on the radio just made it feel so much more like I was in a different time. Toronto in the 1920s, I think you should have me over for a drink.

If you’ve never experienced an event set in a different time period, do it as soon as you can. I’ll always recommend the ’20s, but as long as you get in that Delorean and get it up to 88 mph, I guarantee you’ll have an amazing…time. (Oh, that was terrible.)

20130419-101115.jpg
– Mickey

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

