The board game effect: When worlds collide.

Started off this week with an awesome game night, just like a couple of weeks ago. I did end up buying The Walking Dead: The Board Game after D&D, so of course that was game number one for the night. But what I loved about the night was the company, as usual.

There were a couple of new additions to the table who weren’t there last session and I was glad they were able to make it out to the house. (One of them actually won the first game.) But the best part of this for me was that this was a colliding of worlds playing together, killing zombies (or failing to do so, in my case). I had friends from my theatre world, a friend from my work/D&D world and my roommates all at one table. If we were to play Taboo — which was brought as a potential selection — I would have been the clear winner. I always try to get my friends of different circles to at things like this as well as other parties and celebrations, because I always have it in my mind that if I can get along with awesome people from different worlds, then they should probably get to know each other as well.

And board game night number two was the perfect opportunity to do so. The Walking Dead was a lengthy affair this time around, with everybody at one point having two of three locations scouted, all of us going for the third and, subsequently, for the win. Luckily, I had vegetables and potassium with dip ready to go, as well as healthy non-sugar, vegan cake prepared by my roommate’s girlfriend (which contrary to your initial reaction, which I’m sure was a bit of disgust, was actually quite moist and delicious) and awesome low-sugar, low-butter lemon cranberry muffins made by one of my visiting guests. (Also, beer. I don’t have it often anymore, and when I do it’s just one, so don’t worry, I’m keeping it in moderation. Also, P90X round one wrap up coming soon.)

What solidified this merging of worlds for me, however, was a healthy round of Cards Against Humanity. If you don’t know about this game already, I highly suggest you look it up. If you’ve ever played Apples to Apples then you know exactly how this game works. Without getting into the details of the game play, which are few anyway, this game gets some of the most raucous laughter out of anyone who plays it and it does so with the most inappropriate, vulgar, and obscene connections you could make. Because that’s how you win at this game. You make people laugh uncomfortably with the most crude and indecent connections between cards. If you don’t have this game, get it now. Print it out, even. You can do that for free, if you choose, it just takes some time to cut the cards out. (I preferred to buy mine because I like having the professional cut, but to each their own.) And because of a group of recent strangers-turned-acquaintances feeling okay with laughing together at really inappropriate things, worlds collide and a bond is formed. The game night group is established and a ritual is born.

A board game kind of weekend/weekstart. I love it.

601724_10101254177031460_562155470_n

– Mickey

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

