Those compact days.

Time is a funny thing. We experience it so differently from moment to moment that sometimes events just blur together or inexplicably spread apart. We’ll recount things happening in different places, different dates, even with different people sometimes when we try to tell a story about it. It happens, it’s often time hilarious when it does, but it’s always intriguing and interesting how our mind can remember so many details but then mix and match them, seemingly at random, sometimes.

Today was one of those days where so many things happened that it feels like it happened over a span of a two or three days instead of just one. It was non-stop, moving from location to location, each one a different vibe and energy from the last (but thankfully all positive and awesome), and it was completely filled with things I love to do. Music recording session, theatre/dance rehearsal, an unexpected studio, friends at work, work itself, the movies, and a tough workout all happened in a span of about 16 hours. Surprisingly, it did not feel like a long day at all. I could feel a little lower in energy than usual near the end, especially through the workout, but overall throughout the day, I was feeling great.

And even though I’m a huge believer in time flying while you’re having fun, and today was a lot of fun, it didn’t just fly by. It wasn’t long, and it wasn’t short. (So it was just right, I suppose?) I’m not sure how to describe it. I guess you could say it had the right pace, overall. There were times where I felt like I had to race just a bit, but I can’t say that I ever felt the pressure of feeling rushed. It was as if I was in high-gear, but at my discretion only, and no one else’s, which would explain it never felt stressful or pushed at any time through the day.

What’s intriguing to me is that, looking back at the day now as I write it, it feels like I’m recounting my entire week. But the whole week itself was packed with interesting events. Today seems to push those events back even further into the past, but really they just happened a couple of days ago. Oh time, you’re so awesome, mysterious and weird sometimes. (Or at least my perception of you are those things, I suppose.)

Another random blabbering post, but one that intrigues me and also makes me realize that I love doing what I do, and I don’t mind packing all of that into one day and really getting the most out of my non-sleep time. (Speaking of which, I think I need more sleep, in general. I’ve got to find that balance!)

What’s that? You caught that I wrote that I went to the movies? Nice work. This is what I saw:

– Mickey

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

